My comp takes to...

Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
72
Likes
0
Points
6
#1
Ok 1st it sayes page not found then its sayes thank you for useing startnow and then takes me to ebay.Is this adware and if so what is a good progarm to use to remove it?
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#2
It sounds like adware, from your description, but it could also be a virus. So firstly do you have a virus program, if you don't I suggest Nortons AntiVirus (it's not free). If you already have virus software then a good program for adware/spyware is Ad-Aware (it's free).
 

Archangel

Active Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
2,274
Likes
0
Points
36
#3
Yeah no doubt that is adware hmmmmm I dont know any good programs but check download.com for one ( they got everything and its free)
 

Krahe

Full of bees
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
135
Likes
0
Points
16
#5
Ad-Aware is good. I also use Spybot - Search and Destroy.

As for free anti-virus programs, I use AVG Free Anti-Virus.
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#8
Nice. Hmm this thread should become the official, "My Computer is Acting Like a Piece of Shit, What Should I Do?" thread.
 

Entombment

Active Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
9,824
Likes
0
Points
36
#9
Haha. I suppose you could call it that

Glad you fixed your computer though. Personally, when I used Window$, I used NOD32. Best there is ;)
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
132
Likes
0
Points
16
#10
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Krahe @ April 12, 2007, 12:06 AM) [snapback]5784[/snapback]</div>
Ad-Aware is good. I also use Spybot - Search and Destroy.

As for free anti-virus programs, I use AVG Free Anti-Virus.[/b]
Pretty much what I was gonna say.
 

rimotrian

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
10
Likes
0
Points
1
#11
^^, Hope do i install ram on my computer?? I'm having lagy problems and slow internet >_< and i bought some but have no clue how to put it in..
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#12
Before you even do that, I'd advise a virus and a spyware check using the suggested links above.
 

deboned

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
1
#13
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div>
^^, Hope do i install ram on my computer?? I'm having lagy problems and slow internet >_< and i bought some but have no clue how to put it in..[/b]

before doing anything check for spywares/adware and viruses. do diskclean up then defrag.
that should minimize some lagy problems.