The Role of Journalism

Zero Phoenix

The Second Coming of Hazama
Want to switch gears here for a second and give everyone a topic that isn't so daunting. In the interest of fairness I want everyone's "opinion" on what role media should play in human civilization. Entertainment? Education? Whatever. You don't have to worry about defending your arguments just post something that has to do with the topic. To give you all more perspective and to encourage participation I'll give you some more information.

I'm a Journalist and speaking as someone who has experience in the media my views, in addition to carrying a great deal of weight, are also needed to move this topic forward. I've been in this business for a couple of years and I've worked in magazines as well as public television and radio. With that comes a great deal of experience and some stories.

I got into the biz because I felt that truth and the spread of the truth was (or should have been) the main purpose of Journalism. However, experience has taught me differently. When I was in my senior year of instruction I benefitted from (or was hindered by) interviews with actual experts in the field who uniformly told us that based on their experience it was important to get the story that people want to hear before your rivals are able to. Journalism is one big ass ratings war between this paper contra that one, these stations against those, and so forth, add naseum.

Of course I assumed this to be their experience and it would have no bearing on what I do in my daily lot. I'm rarely wrong about anything but when I am, watch out and boy was I wrong about this particular venture.