Hacktool.rootkit

ber1122

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Messages
5
Likes
0
Points
1
#1
i keep getting this hacktool.rootkit and my NV2007 block it...
But it keep coming back... anyone encounter this....??
It after i visited some china website...
Any work around for this...???
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#2
Never had that come up. NV2007? Is that Nortons AntiVirus?
 

Swiss

function Swiss()
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,023
Likes
0
Points
36
#3
If it is Norton can't help you. However I would recommend NOD32 it's a wonderful antivirus that wouldn't give you those problems
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#4
Eh, Norton Antivirus is actually really good. Gets rid of every virus it catches on my computer...I rarely get virus'. You should probably do a full system scan.
 

Swiss

function Swiss()
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,023
Likes
0
Points
36
#5
Norton is good but uses alot of resources and eventually it will have problems at some point.
 

Nori

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,990
Likes
0
Points
36
#6
Yea, most good virus scanners use a lot of resources because it deep scans your computer. And I have an old Dell (one of my computers) with on 256 RAM and while the scan is going the computer is still fast. Honestly, I think Nortons uses up less resources than the new AIM lol.
 

n1to

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
1
#7
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (ber @ June 18, 2007, 10:24 AM) [snapback]7629[/snapback]</div>
i keep getting this hacktool.rootkit and my NV2007 block it...
But it keep coming back... anyone encounter this....??
It after i visited some china website...
Any work around for this...???[/b]
OK, my friends, I am a newbee here. So don't get yourself workup if I happen to upset by accident. The first thing you need to do is go to Google and find the program called "RemoveIT Pro ST2", installed, and update it. After that, disconnect yourself from any network, and logon to safemode, disable your user AV, and run a full scan with RemoveIT Pro. You should be able to clean most of it. Remember, what you have gotten here is "ROOTKIT"! It's hidden, and too many of the damn retail AV can't do squad about this. However, I do know that they are beta testing. Thus if RemoveIT can't do it, then try the beta tests.

Good luck! :smile:
 

gardenmega

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
8
Likes
0
Points
1
#8
O how wonderful i think Norton is only downside is that it hogs alot of memory just trying to scan. Especially when its running and i go AFK for 30 mins and the screen saver is on.. O man talk about laggy for a couple of minutes.
 

Entombment

Active Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
9,824
Likes
0
Points
36
#9
Norton is fail. It improperly scans, uses too much memory for nothing. Basically its a C+ coded piece of crap xD

For once in his life, Swiss was right. NOD32 is win
 

WandererLynx XX

Dark Leviathan Sannin
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
914
Likes
0
Points
16
#10
my friend encountered that, it's a virus, that is designed to damage your hard drive and steal personal info, or so he says